Friday 1 July 2011

What Is Vaastu Shastra...

       The word vaastu means a dwelling. The term ‘Vaastu’ is basically derived from the Sanskrit word ’Vaas’ which means ‘to reside’. The Shaastra (Study) of Vaastu is called Vaastu Shastra. Vaastu is an ancient Indian science of architecture and buildings, influencing peace and prosperity for the inhabitants. Vaastu does not find its roots in Astrology but is a science that deals with the management of cosmic energy in Buildings & Structure .Vaastu can also be looked upon as an ancient mystic science for designing and building which helps us to make our lives better and in securing ourselves from things going wrong.
The knowledge has come down from the creator ‘Brahma’ through an unbroken succession of sages. Human life is affected by various forces and vaastu is one of the prime forces. Vaastu is based on five elements, i.e. water, fire, air, earth, and sky. Vaastu shastra helps in maintaining harmony among these elements. The period of miseries and sufferings will automatically vanish, if these five elements are correctly positioned at right directions.
       Vaastu has been in used in India, from time immemorial. There are many historical structures that have been designed following the principles of  vaastu shastra  and are still in existence. The bases of vaastu are totally scientific, because the positive forces set scientifically. If the house is constructed by following principles of vaastu shastra, the family members will live with peace, happiness and have prosperity. On the contrary, if the house is built against the principles of vaastu, they will face lot of problems in their life.
        Vaastu shastra is based on the principle of controlling two basic forces – “Positive forces” and “Negative forces”. Any architectural design either brings in some good effects or evil effects on the persons inhabiting the structure. The most important aspect of vaastu is to reduce the effect of negative forces and to increase the effect of positive forces. This helps the people staying inside the structure make their life easy and happier.
       Vaastu helps in creating a harmonious atmosphere inside a building, a house, a commercial building, a business place, and in turn helps people to live happily and energetically.
According to vaastu shastra, the world comprises five basic elements known as the pancha maha bhoota. The five elements are as follows.
EARTH (Bhumi) - Earth, the third planet in order from the sun, is a big magnet with North and South poles as centers of attractions. Its magnetic field and gravitational force has considerable effects on everything on the Earth, living and non-living.
WATER (Jala) - This is represented by rain, river, sea and is in the form of liquid, solid (ice) and gas (steam, cloud). It forms part of every plant and animal. Our blood is mostly water.
AIR (Vayu) - As a life supporting element, air is a very powerful life source. Human physical comfort values are directly and sensitively dependent on correct humidity, air flow, temperature of air, air pressure, air composition and its content.
FIRE (Agni) - Represents light and heat which account for day, night, the seasons, energy, enthusiasm, passion and vigor.
SPACE (Akasha) - The akasha provides shelter to all the above elements. It is also considered the primary conductor of all energy sources within the universal context - physical energies such as sound and light, social energies such as psychological and emotional, and cognitive energies such as intellect and intuition.
       There is an invisible and constant relation between all the five elements. Thus, the person can improve their conditions by properly designing their buildings by understanding the effectiveness of these five natural forces. Vaastu shastra combines all the five elements of nature and balances them with the person and the material. It takes advantage of the benefits bestowed by the five elements of nature to create a congenial living and working environment thereby facilitating spiritual well-being and paving the way for enhanced health, wealth, prosperity and happiness.
There are four categories of Vaastu
  • The earth / site – Bhoomi ,the principal dwelling place on which everything else rests
  • The structures on the earth –Prasada 
  • Movable objects (vehicles)- Yaana
  • Furniture - Sayana
                So, by practicing Vaastu Shastra, You can induce positive aspects conferred by your destiny and reduce the negative ones. It gives a boost to your destiny and increases your efficiency and well being.

No comments:

Post a Comment